Moving towards Winter

As we move in to the winter months, it is easy to neglect our hydration. We often replace our bottled waters (glass or stainless steel preferred) with warm coffee or tea. Coffee, and to a lesser extent tea, do not count as H2O intake because they cause the water on the outside of your cells to be excreted from the body. If you find yourself in need of a pick-me-up in the morning or the afternoon, I would recommend hot or warm water with a pinch (not enough to taste) of Celtic Sea Salt®
. If you don’t have the salt, don’t worry; it just helps your body retain the fluids you take in. It also supercharges your water with essential minerals it may be lacking otherwise. If you need something stronger, contact me and I can develop an herbal tea suited to your needs.

Just as water can be important during the winter months, food also helps keep your cells hydrated and organs lubricated. When at the grocery store, of course, try and stick to the perimeter and purchase the most fresh, highest quality food you can afford. In addition to that, try and find out what is locally grown. Local eating is not only good for the local economy but also good for your body because if ensures that the food is fresh but also that your food is in season. You can go to the store right now and buy some Mangos and strawberries but good luck trying to grow your own at this time in this hemisphere. They have to be shipped half a world away from the summer plantations of South America. The food that is grown in your local environment is best suited to deal with the current seasonal climate. Winter is an airy, cold and hyper-mobile (hectic) time of the year. Winter vegetables are mainly things that grow in or close to the ground. Choosing these to put on your dinner table will help ground your body, mind and soul at this particular time of stress and harsh weather.

3 thoughts on “Moving towards Winter

  1. When I originally commented I seem to have clicked the -Notify me when new comments are added-
    checkbox and from now on whenever a comment is added I receive four emails with the same comment.
    Perhaps there is a way you can remove me from that service?
    Thank you!

  2. Hello! I could have sworn I’ve visited this blog before but after browsing through some of the articles I realized it’s new to
    me. Regardless, I’m definitely delighted I stumbled upon it and
    I’ll be book-marking it and checking back regularly!

Leave a Reply

